December 4, 2005

Excellent Marketing from Ubuntu

Posted in Computers, Linux, Uncategorized at 6:55 pm by pmatos

As a Gentoo user for a lot of years now, I’ve not been trying other distros but I’ve heard about the ‘end’ of RedHat and read how Fedora was born as well as a lot of other tales on Linux Distros. More recently there has been a lot of fuss about the Ubuntu Linux Distro and while reading an article online I noticed Ubuntu was shipping CDs free of charge and I though to myself “How is this possible???”. But it is true!!!

I could not resist the fact to ask for some, not only for my personal curiosity but also to distribute to my most eager students. I’m sure they will like a Linux CD at the end of the semester.
One thing I’m sure, it’s difficult to beat this kind of merchandising… Hope Gentoo opens its eyes ASAP.

2 Comments »

  1. hav0x said,

    Gentoo ou qualquer outra distro popular a fazer a distribuição gratuita de cds é altamente improvavel. Só de pensar nos numeros dos custos (cd printing shipping) dá-me dores de cabeça.
    O caso do Ubuntu é muito especifico. Tem gente por traz a meter dinheiro naquilo sem esperar lucro. (O Sr Marc Shuttleworth é amigo =) )

  2. […] On the 4th December, almost a month ago I spoke about the marketing campaign of Ubuntu. The CDs have arrived today! […]


Leave a Reply

