February 23, 2006

Brokeback Mountain

Posted in Movies at 12:35 am by pmatos

Brokeback Mountain

Plot Outline:Based on the E. Annie Proulx story about a forbidden and secretive relationship between two cowboys and their lives over the years. A raw, powerful story of two young men, a Wyoming ranch hand and a rodeo cowboy, who meet in the summer of 1963 sheepherding in the harsh, high grasslands of contemporary Wyoming and form an unorthodox yet life-long bond–by turns ecstatic, bitter and conflicted.

Personal Comments:

This movie is one of the most mind-changing experiences you might feel in a theater. I went to see it today during the afternoon and I was not much inspired… I heard it was about the story of two homosexuals who had this secret between them and nobody could know and blablabla… Forget it! Go see it…

Still, I always had something about homosexuals that made me harsh when I talked about them. I think with age that has been changing. Things seem to have become clearer and what was taught me about homosexuals and what my family and society culture made me think about them is being changed as I learn and study and live more. Today this movie also helped me to see things clearly. Sometimes our preconceptions are so deep that makes us blind. Movies like this, which makes us experience mind-changing moments are worth-while and I think there should be more… Obviously, not only about homosexuality but also about other ‘tabu’ subjects that for some reason our society still denies and teaches our teenagers wrongly, I think on this kind of subjects we are going the right way… the change is going slower due to some obstacles in society like the church, politicians, demagogues, etc..

1 Comment »

  1. pmatos said,

    Não consegui descobrir um link directo para o post mas no blog da APA que descobri por acaso:
    http://sociedadedogajedo.blogspot.com/

    as bloggers dizem em “tom” de gozação:
    «Um filme sobre homossexualidade masculina não devia ter a palavra “Back” no título.» (15 de Fev. 2006)

    Mesmo assim, e sem gozação, questiono-me se de facto a Brokeback Mountain existe, e se não existe, porquê este nome, e se tem algo a ver com a homosexualidade na qual se baseia o excelente filme.


Leave a Reply

