July 28, 2006

The Break-Up

Posted in Movies at 9:53 am by pmatos

The Break-Up

Plot Outline:After Brooke (Aniston) calls it quits with her boyfriend Gary (Vaughn), neither person is willing to move out of the condo they share. Taking the advice of their repsective friends and confidants (and a few total strangers), they both engage in mental warfare designed to force the other person to flee the premises — until they both realize they might be fighting to keep their relationship alive.

Personal Comments:

I went to see this with my girlfriend last week to the cinema, wishing it to be a very funny and pleasant afternoon… and it was! In fact, although I was not amused on how it ended, the movie portrayed some day-to-day issues between couples with a lot of irony and comedy. There are awesome parts like the fighting for ‘dish-washing’ when she says: “I don’t want you to wash the dishes, I want you to want to wash the dishes.” This is a very nice quote because most of the times, this is how thing really happens even if we do not say it in real life. Even the other day, my girlfriend wanted to see the soap opera but she was alone at home so she asked me to go there to see it with me. Although I do not usually see soap operas, at least, not lately I went there and it was kind’a boring, which I told her at the end and she just reminded me that she didn’t want me to see the soap opera with her, she wanted me to want to see the soap opera with her which is completely different. There are really nice moments in these day to day issues…

And the quote everyone reminds from the trailer:

Brooke: My sister has been through a lot…
Gary: …of dick?

Leave a Reply

