November 8, 2006

Amazon… Why?

Posted in Life at 11:34 am by pmatos

I’ve had on the stack a similar post for some months but then I just erased it from the stack… Now, another thing came up!

I’ve ordered a 3 item package with ‘super saver delivery’ (free delivery within UK) and it was sent to be through parcelnet. When I got it, only 2 of the items were inside… “Hell, where’s the other one? Nope, not inside this parcel…”

Got worried so I went to Amazon to the help and I just clicked through Dispatched and Delivery -> There’s a Problem with a Delivery I’ve Received -> I haven’t received everything I ordered and since my issue was not listed I sent an email. The most perfect help system I’ve seen online! The email sent to them was:

11/07/06 17:23:29
Your name:Paulo Jorge Matos
Order No: -order -num-
ITEMS:
-a book1-
Comments:Hello, I’ve ordered three items but only two arrived. I waited until the estimate time went time to see it I was to receive another package but nothing seemed to arrive. As far as I know you only sent one package. The package only contained “-a book1-” and “-a dvd-“. The wierd thing is that the pack you sent doesn’t have space for 3 items anyway so you just missed it. Will you send it to me please?

I’ve uploaded some high-res photos of the package, the receipt and the items taken when I got it from parcelnet.


Regards,

Paulo Matos

Soon after (4 hours to be precise) I got a reply:

Dear Customer

Thank you for contacting Amazon.co.uk.

First, let me apologise for this apparent mix-up during packing.

I have placed a new order #202-8653750-2035863 for the missing item, to be sent to the same delivery address. We will post it to you as soon as possible at no additional charge.

To view the availability time and an estimation of the dispatch date of your order, please visit Your Account at the top of any page on our website or use the following URL:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/your-account/

Click on “Open and recently dispatched orders” and sign in with your e-mail address and password. You will then be able to view a delivery estimate below the heading “Items Not Yet Dispatched”. Simply click on the name of the item below the delivery estimate to view the current availability time.

We will notify you by e-mail at the time the new order is sent out to confirm the date, contents and method of delivery.

Again, we apologise sincerely for any inconvenience caused. Thank you for shopping at Amazon.co.uk.
Please let us know if this e-mail answered your question:

If yes, click here:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/
If not, click here:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/

Please note: this e-mail was sent from an address that cannot accept incoming e-mail.

To contact us about an unrelated issue, please visit the Help section of our website.

Warmest regards

Prabhu N.
Customer Service
Amazon.co.uk

Well, this is awesome customer service. I wonder what would happen in a Portuguese Bookstore: “Well, sir, I’m really sorry but we are pretty sure everything you ordered has been sent… blablabla…”
Maybe I’m wrong but this is my feeling! Amazon.co.uk has always been timely (Arrives in 2-3 days to Portugal and 2 days to England, before the date estimate), the recommendations they send are always very good, their help system is excellent and their products are always well packaged and well handled. It’s in fact, always a pleasure to buy at amazon. Even if sometimes I use addall.com to try and pick the most cheap books but I usually always get them through amazon.co.uk anyhow since I know I’ll have a pretty good service.

I’m pretty sure everyone knows amazon these days but I really needed to express my feelings towards it since it is really really realllly great!

Leave a Reply

