April 7, 2007

Upload feature in WP hosted by SF

Posted in Computers, Linux at 11:28 am by pmatos

As part of a new project which is hosted at SF, I decided to create a blog there using WP. Installation was quite simple since you have a lot of information available from SF regarding the shell and mysql server so everything went smoothly but then I couldn’t upload any files to the blog! :-(

“Damn”, I though… So, I remembered that it was obvious there was a permission problem with the

wp-content/uploads

directory. I logged in the shell server and chmoded to 755… didn’t work so I tried 775, still not working …. tried 777 and damn… not working!

The solution is not straightforward, so if you do not want to waste the time I did, here’s the solution.

So, tried several things… but they were not working so after several half hours or searching, giving up, searching, giving up… I posted a support request at sourceforge and they finally I got that:

Greetings,

The project group mounts are done read-only on the webservers, please
read:

https://www.sf.net/docs/E07

The fix is to create a directory in /tmp/persistent with your project’s
UNIX name, and then use that directory for any file reading/writing.

So, this seemed the solution but it is not. I created a directory in

/tmp/persistent

for my project but then I needed to tell wordpress that the uploads directory was outside the WP dir which is not possible. After several tries, the solution is to setup the directory to be

wp-content/uploads

and create a symbolic link uploads in wp-content to the directory you created in

/tmp/persistent

. This will work, I don’t think you’ll get there using any other solution, without modifying a WP code itself.

Leave a Reply

