August 10, 2007

I’ll never be rich…

Posted in Books, Programming, Scheme at 1:34 pm by pmatos

As already everyone in the Lisp community knows, Lisp In Small Pieces had a small price in the last few days. It became #1 in Amazon.ca books and then the price went back to $94.40.

I had the time to buy myself one copy of it yesterday by $3.95. I thought myself as a lucky guy who found a great book for a real bargain and that I was smart buying one. So, I told this story to Jenny, Jordi and Noura here in ECS and it seems Jenny business eye caught immediately how stupid I was in buying only one!!! Well, in fact, if I had any kind of business intuition I would have bought not one but 10 or 20, to sell them afterwards by higher prices but obviously lower elsewhere so that I could sell them and have a huge profit.

Two questions remains: If I had bought 20 of them would I be able to sell them (are there enough Lispers out there without the book willing to buy it)? And out of curiosity, did anyone buy more than one book in order to profit from its selling in the future?

Oh well, this way I’ll definitely never get rich… I’ll just keep saving some money to be able to buy some cheap things for me but I’ll never get to be a wealthy man.

7 Comments »

  1. Nuno said,

    This post made me smile. Not because I’m happy that you think you’ll never be rich. Far from that, as you know, I want the best for you. Although the best in life is different for everyone, so being rich might not be what you want ;) Anyway, just wanted to share with you the fact that I am, for quite some time now, an interested reader in finance/economic books and what your friend told could be defined as simply as this: you lost yourself an opportunity. Not to be rich, but to make business, and therefor, some money! Of course an important part would take place once you had bought the 20 books: how to sell them.

    Well, if you ever get more interested on the subject, check these out:
    http://www.amazon.com/Rich-Dad-Poor-Money-That-Middle/dp/0446677450/ref=pd_bbs_2/102-5480537-5515316?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1186759099&sr=1-2
    http://www.amazon.com/Rich-Dads-Guide-Investing-Invest/dp/0446677469/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/102-5480537-5515316?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1186759130&sr=1-1
    http://www.amazon.com/Hidden-Order-Economics-Everyday-Life/dp/0887308856/ref=pd_sim_b_3/102-5480537-5515316
    http://www.amazon.com/o/ASIN/0195189779/ref=s9_asin_title_1-1966_g1/102-5480537-5515316?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-1&pf_rd_r=1Y6SRVHA1KQ89C86DZ2W&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=278240701&pf_rd_i=507846
    http://www.amazon.com/Hidden-Order-Economics-Everyday-Life/dp/0887308856/ref=pd_sim_b_3/102-5480537-5515316

    I’m currently reading the second one in this link list. I don’t love the way the guy writes, but I like some of the ideas.

    By the way, and just by curiosity, a friend here at work read a book and he stopped smoking that same day. I know you don’t smoke but we all have smoker friends ;)

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1402718616/ref=wl_it_dp/102-5480537-5515316?ie=UTF8&coliid=I342BKGW6YQKRB&colid=VATE22R4JX2U

    Sorry for the big comment! (hope the links work, btw)

    (we’ll be in PT next week, if you’re there send me a mail ;))
    Big Hug!

  2. I know many lispers at my work, but don’t worry there will be many more opportunities in the future.

  3. Lavanya said,

    Don’t you hate it when that happens…but the again, if all of us were the looking-for-profit-in-every-inch-of-the-world types, no one will be rich…and that is a depressing thought!
    and I am sure people do it often, but they are the seasoned players….don’t mess with their tricks of trade buddy!

  4. abarclay12 said,

    I also used to have a lisp, but I corrected it with speech therapy and some head gear.

  5. Hoppla said,

    Well, you’d have had to buy the books without being certain the price would rise again.

  6. rtra said,

    I want to kill myself. Now I’ll have to graduate before I can buy it… ARGH!

  7. […] can still remember when this book was recommended to me by a friend, in a comment to a post of mine where I said: “I’ll never be rich”. I think it was the first […]


Leave a Reply

