April 6, 2008

Ubuntu & Leopard

Posted in Computers, Linux tagged , , , at 12:49 pm by pmatos

As a Gentoo user, all my Gentoo / XPTO OS comparison will always be biased, so I will refrain from that… still…

Ubuntu impresses… Leopard disappoints.

A dry sentence like this might cause panic and cardiac arrests to some so let me try to find an excuse on why I might be feeling this. For long I have been using Linux and I had never tried Ubuntu and I never thought they could make a Linux installation so simple and user-friendly, I never thought they could design such nice buttons, backgrounds, etc. I was really impressed with the overall feeling… On the other hand, for years, I have been fed by promises that Apple will save the world from 3rd world OSes and “find the cure for cancer”, if you know what I mean… However, I am using Leopard… the champion, the OS ruler, the king of good design, the elite of simplicity… and I just feel the need to cry!

3 Comments »

  1. vdias said,

    Uso o mac os x diariamente e de dia para dia… vou ficando tal e qual como tu… Desiludido de todo… o OS cheira mesmo a trabalho feito em cima do joelho… está tão limitado em tudo…

  2. Rogério said,

    Não concordo com a afirmação de que o mac os x é um SO limitado. Por baixo do eye candy está unix… como pode ser limitado? podem-se correr todas as apps de linux nele, até se pode ter um package manager identico ao ports do BSD… onde se faz um download da source de um repositorio, compila-se e voilá… free software.

    Eu tb uso meu dia a dia e não sinto qualquer limitação. Claro que não é a liberdade do linux, mas anda lá perto.

  3. Nuno Mariz said,

    Bem, acho que discordo com tudo.
    “Ubuntu impresses” onde?
    “Leopard disappoints” onde?
    “OS cheira mesmo a trabalho feito em cima do joelho” onde?
    “está tão limitado em tudo…” onde?
    Escrevam factos.


Leave a comment